

Das einzig WAMRE Metalradio im Netz!

Band: Votum (PL)

Genre: Progressive Metal Label: Inner Wound Recordings

Albumtitle: :KTONIK: Duration: 39:34 Releasedate: 26.02.16



I reviewed this album with a thrill of anticipation. The cover has a great design and it really is an eye catcher — a little appetizer for every progressive metal fan. The spangled sky is also the programme: these sounds rush slowly, incrementally, melancholy and desperately into your ear and cause an incredibly chain reaction of mixed feelings. If a band accomplishes that, it's a damn good sign.

Founded in 2008 with about four released albums und a huge amount of life shows, the band will publish its new album ":KTONIK:" on February 26th. Votum create music like colourful movies. The opener "Satellite" is such a hit, you probably happen to find yourselves sing along now and then. The polish band seems to paint its songs but the tracks can also fit as a soundtrack into an epic movie scene. Like gentle rain the riffs and the keyboards patter in quiet passages and remind of bands such as Riverside and Porcupine Tree. I dare to say I recognize the opening riff in "Prometheus" from the song "A Day By The Lake" of Disillusion which I love so much because it reminds me of balmy summer nights. The most tracks are dominated by modern staccato-like riffs, tracking the American example whereas soft vocals transform into a cry of desperation, followed by a tornado of drum passages and fast guitar sounds. Votum perfect art in their own philosophic and ethereal musical form: creative, wild, powerful and on the other hand extremely vulnerable and soft.

Conclusion:

Above average and still not the high flyer. ":KTONIK:" could be more because of fascinating and soft sounds. After a few songs, the album sadly sinks into a dreamy state – perfect music for a quiet evening. You will be disappointed, if you look for technical riffs or twisted melodies which are so typical for this genre.

Rating: 6/10

Recommendations: Satellite, Prometheus

Weblinks: http://www.votumband.pl , http://www.facebook.com/Votumpage

Lineup:

Zbigniew Szatkowski - Keyboards Adam Kaczmarek - Guitars Adam Łukaszek - Drums Bart Sobieraj - Vocals Bart Turkowski - Bass Piotr Lniany - Guitar

Tracklist:

- 01. Satellite
- 02. Greed
- 03. Spiral
- 04. Blackened Tree
- 05. Simulacra
- 06. Prometheus
- 07. Horizontal
- 08. Vertical
- 09. Last Word

Author and Translator: Cha Lee