

Das einzig WAMRE Metalradio im Netz!

Band: Illusions Dead (FIN) Genre: Death / Black Metal

Label: Selfreleased

Albumtitle: Celestial Decadence

Duration: 40:29

Releasedate: 08.02.2016



The Finnish Blackend Death metalheads of Illusions Dead shouldn't be known by a great number of people as they primal release their debut album this year that has been already produced in 2014 on own initiative.

One can listen to Death Metal refined with Black Metal influences. The opener "Incursion" starts directly with blast beats. However, it quickly becomes evident that the sound is a bit bumpy and washed-out. This isn't that good especially for the guitars. They intersperse melodies remind of Black Metal now and then although it gets a bit lost in the mush of music. One could get over that precisely because it is self released, if the songs had had the potential to thrill the listener.

Unfortunately the moments that really catch the attention are few and far between. It will be either hammered as in "Incursion" or "The Way Of The Deceiver" or the songs vegetate in the mid-tempo range without inspiration. "Devoured By Hatred" and "Hour Of The Raven" are good examples for that. Furthermore it would have been a good thing for the songs, if the vocals had been arranged with more variety. Indeed, growling and screaming are the base of the vocals but it doesn't vary in the songs itself. They either use the one or the other in a song.

The middle of "Shadow and Flame" with its melodically flair that clearly reminds of Black Metal knows how to please. In their last song "Illusions Dead" they even manage to create real tension with the melody coming in after a quiet acoustic part in middle.

Conlusion:

Unfortunately "Celestial Decadence" isn't a real big thing. However, it shows off and on that there could be more potential in the band. But overall these short moments are not enough to secure the band a place in many cd-shelfs.

Rating: 3,5/10

Weblink: https://www.facebook.com/illusionsdeadofficial/

Lineup:

Johannes Katajamäki - Vocals / Guitar Jake Lastujoki - Guitar Mikael Aalto - Bass Akseli Auralinna - Drums

Tracklist:

- 01. Incursion
- 02. Devoured By Hatred
- 03. Shadow And Flame
- 04. Hour Of The Raven
- 05. Revolution (Celestial Spheres)
- 06. Tormentor Of The Weak
- 07. The Way Of The Deceiver
- 08. Illusions Dead

Author: Thrash Maniac 666 / Translator: Dine