

Das einzig WAHRE Metalradio im Netz!

Band: Horrendous (USA) Genre: Death Metal

Label: Dark Descent Records

Albumtitle: Anareta Duration: 44:16

Releasedate: 30.10.2015



In the USA Death Metal bands are like sand at the beach, some are better, some worse which makes it hard to keep an overview and to fish out the really good ones. Now we will have a look where Horrendous are standing.

"Anareta", the second album of the trio from Philadelphia and Columbia, means as much as "destroyer". With this, the expectations are even a bit increased. However, who reckons with pure destructive fury will be initially disappointed because the album appears surprisingly melodic. Even if the majority of the album is played in uptempo, the riffs are incredibly catchy and stay in the ears for hours.

By and by one is fortunately getting accustomed to the hoarse screaming of the singer and in addition to this there is also the instrumental "Siderea" which clearly shows that all of the musicians are really capable. My favourite, however, is "Acolytes". A comparatively slow riffing at the beginning that exaggerates itself more and more and finally leaves back all the previously heard velocities of the album in a trail of dust.

The only negative factors, especially in the two seven-minute-songs "Ozymadias" and "Acolytes", are these perpetual repetitions that are partly cut on very disturbing points. Without this, both songs cold have been shortened to five minutes and these four minutes less would not have done any damage to the album. It is also questionable if it really needed one of these used up acoustic guitar intros for "Sum Of All Failures".

Conclusion:

Horrendous are on a good way. All of the songs are underrated ear catchers. In the end there should only be worked on some little points and there will emerge a Death Metal album that is still more high-grade than it even is.

Rating 7/10

Recommendations: The Nihilist, Siderea, Acolytes

Weblink: https://www.facebook.com/HorrendousDeathMetal

Lineup:

Damian Herring – Guitar, Vocals, Bass Matt Knox – Guitar, Vocals, Bass Jamie Knox – Drums

Tracklist:

- 01. The Nihilist
- 02. Ozymandias
- 03. Siderea
- 04. Polaris
- 05. Acolytes
- 06. Sum Of All Failures
- 07. Stillborn Gods
- 08. The Solipsist (Mirrors Gaze)

Author: TaikuriVeli / Translator: Sebbi