

Das einzig WAHRE Metalradio im Netz!

Band: Distance (E) Genre: Prog. Metal Label: Mighty Music

Albumtitle: I Duration: 47:52

Releasedate: 10.11.2014



Yeah, at last an album from an unknown Prog metal band that makes a lot of fun. Distance is the name of this band who comes from Spain and simply named their album "I".

From the first tone one feels the energy and the power of these guys. As I have already said, I am completely enthusiastic with it from the first beat, without having expected this before. So I am really glad to be the one that gets to know this band.

Immediately the songs tunnel themselves into the brain and one is just grinning. Straightaway Mnemic, In Flames and Soilwork come to my mind. Distance are sounding like these bands in a very strong manner, although that should not be a negative criticism.

Vocalist Morgan has a very striking voice, pleasant. He is crying his soul out of his body but also impresses with his clean voice. The guitarists Alf and Mak are playing in a murderous way, crazy, it pushes straight forward, I would ideally stand up and bang my frustrations out of my head. Murderous riffing, paired with great licks and well dosed soli, absolutely cool and well done. Also drummer Lucho does his job quite well, he knows how to use his instrument in the right manner and is able to play every kind of metal. Up from giving a normal beat to the use of blast beats he shows his whole knowledge. Crazy. Homer with his bass and Ernie at the keyboard round off the sound of Distance and perfect the sound pattern.

These guys simply know how to transmit the energy they have to the listeners. The album shows at no time neither any weak phase nor any filler.

Conclusion:

Distance release an absolutely great opus. Fans of Mnemic, In Flames and Soilwork will make a find. Without any problems these guys can keep up with the heroes of the scene and do not have to hide themselves. "I" is my surprise of the year that was not to be expected in this way.

Rating 10/10

Recommendations: the whole album

Weblink: http://www.distancemetal.com, http://www.facebook.com/dist4nce

Lineup:

Morgan - Vocals
Alf - Guitars
Mak - Guitars
Homer - Bass
Ernie - Synths & Keyboards
Lucho - Drums & Percussion

Tracklist:

- 01. Fragments
- 02. Open Wound
- 03. Chemical Trails
- 04. Too Late
- 05. Conception
- 06. Process Of Self Destruction
- 07. Seeker Of Truth
- 08. Outreach

Author: Basser1971 / Translator: Sebbi