

Das einzig WAHRE Metalradio im Netz!

Band: Pretty Maids (DK) Genre: Hard Rock

Label: Frontiers Records Title: Louder Than Ever

Duration: 52:14 Release: 2014.03.14



To be true I don't know if these pretty maids from Denmark make themselves a favour with this compilation. It is not a Best Of even if they put old tracks within a new production on this LP. But OK that does not have to mean anything. Of course the new tracks with the new production are finest Danish dynamite but if a addicted fan, including me, needs this in a new composure it needs to be reflected by your own. The new sound mixed by Jacob Hansen is very cool but in my opinion it is little bit too clear. A little bit more dirty would be better.

I could understand the band to use the modern technics for producing but it is not necessary for this kind of music.

But for now we should devote for the four new songs. "Deranged" is a fast opener as we know them that comes only a little bit slower and gloomy within the chorus. The subtle strength of the song is loosen up due to the melodic trademarks of the band. The more sustained track "My Soul To Take" sounds very much like a radio airplay. It is a good song but not the best within melodic arrangement. "Nuclear Boomerang", where you can also find an official video, is very tight and it absolutely rocks. The riffs remind me a little bit of Disturbed and the rhythm is pure dynamic rock. And of course they have written one of these mandatory ballads. This one here is called "A Heart Without A Home". OK, they can write ballads but it is not necessary and it would be better to place such a song more in the middle of the album and not to the end but this my very own opinion. I'm sorry about the bonus DVD but I cannot say anything about it 'cause it was not available for us.

Upshot:

In the end it is too random and with only four new songs, only "Nuclear Boomerang" has convinced me, it is much too blown up for an entire LP so it is only for the die-hard fans out there who needs everything of the band.

Rating: 6/10

Website: http://www.prettymaids.dk

Line-Up:

Ronnie Atkins - Vocals Ken Hammer - Guitar Rene Shades - Bass Allan Tchicaja - Drums Morten Sandager - Keyboards

Tracklist:

01. Deranged (new song)

02. Playing God

03. Psycho Time Bomb Planet Earth

04. My Soul To Take (new song)

05. He Who Never Lived

06. Virtual Brutality

07. Tortured Spirit

08. With These Eyes

09. Nuclear Boomerang (new song)

10. Snakes In Eden

- 11. Wake Up To The Real World
- 12. A Heart Without A Home (new song)

DVD:

- documentation of the "Motherland" 2013 World Tour
- material from the 80's
- new interviews, backstage and studio impressions

Author: Steiff Translation: Matthias