

Das einzig WAHRE Metalradio im Netz!

Band: Blood Label (DK) Album Title: Skeletons

Genre: Death / Thrash Metal

Label: Mighty Musik / Target Group

Playtime: 48:45

Releasedate: 17.03.2014



After the 2011 debut EP "Existence Expires" i got the first full-lenght CD from BLOOD LABEL on the desk. The 5 guys from Denmark assemble the influences of Thrash Metal, Metalcore and Alternative Rock like this combination is only natural. Sometimes they shoot their bloody label at you and splash it through your face and in the next moment they wipe it off with a soft feather.

In that way the band offers varied song structures including occasionally blast beat and brutally hammering double bass parts as well as reflectively calm chapters. Small technical extras get gently implemented. The band does this very prudently so the listener got enough time to focus on each part. Luckily at no time the songs get overwhelmed with momentum removing breaks. I especially like that the mixture of the 12 songs never gets too much, there is always time to breath. Each track got its own character. The only thing that is in my opinion a little bit humdrum are the vocals which reminds me here and there of Alexander Hagman from the Swedish Hardcore band RAISED FIST. Overall some catchy refrains would have improved the album. But the band did their homework so that "Skeletons" appears all in all mature and elaborate. And to be honest that could be expected looking down on the line-up. You will find there musicians from DAWN OF DEMISE, THE BURNING and HATESPHERE.

Conclusion:

"Skeletons" is a modern and diversified metal album with an astonishing attention to detail. Everyone get shining eyes who prefers the mixture of several music styles and bands like GWEN STACY, MARES OF THRACE and the Death / Trash VARNAL FORGE provides.

Rating: 7/10

Recommendation: Snake In The Grass, Hell Holds A Place For You, Coup De Grace

LineUp:

Nikolaj Poulsen - Bass Bastian Thusgaard - Drums Alex Kjeldsen - Guitars Kenneth Klitte Jensen - Vocals Jesper Jakobsen - Guitars

Tracklist:

- 01. Deliver Me From Evil
- 02. Snake in the Grass
- 03. Shotgun-Blown in the Face
- 04. Paranoia
- 05. Bad Blood
- 06. Stuck in Limbo
- 07. Hell Holds a Place for You
- 08. Explode
- 09. Disease Pit
- 10. Skeletons
- 11. Coup de Grace
- 12. The Black Arts

Author: Pat Translation: Singilary