

Das einzig WAHRE Metalradio im Netz!

Band: Sea (DK) Genre: Hard Rock Label: Mighty Music

Albumtitle: The Grip Of Time

Duration: 43:41

Releasedate: 12.05.2017

The Danish Hard Rockers Sea are ready to show the world the successor of their self-titled debut from three years ago. The precious piece is named "The Grip Of Time" and it wants to inspire friends of cultured retro Rock music.

Just like on the forerunner the poster child of the band is definitely the singing of Anders Brink. The combination of melody and dirty, native hardness is still fun and should ensure that fans of the band will feel immediately at home. The production is also a real hearing pleasure. The guitars sound great and the drums are hammering like mad. So far, so good.

However, in contrast to the first album, there is a lack of qualitative song material here. The songs appear monotonous, uninspiring and simply not really prepared. Above all this monotony is created by the fact that nearly every song is produced in mid- tempo, hence everything sounds quite similar. Sea can only rarely break out of this concept. After multiple run-throughs there are no songs that I would rate better than "ok" or which remain in long-lasting memory. Especially the chorus is really often made of only one word ("Rust") and that can quickly get on your nerves. What a pity, really!

On the other hand the rarely placed solos are absolutely awesome. They are full of melody and pleasure and often remind of Thin Lizzy and Co. The delight is unfortunately too seldom to save the songs across time. Well, whom would I like to recommend "The Grip Of Time"? Actual only hard rocking fans of the band who inhale every tone of the guys. All other fans of classical Hard and Retro Rock are served better with bands like Horisont, Dead Lord or Black Trip.

## Conclusion:

Followers of the band should lower their expectations. Fans of this genre can skip "The Grip of Time" without a bad conscience. It is not more than a common run!

Rating: 5/10

Recommendation: nothing



## **TRACKLIST**

- 01. Rust
- 02. Once We Were Dead
- 03. Time Will Let You Know
- 04. Shout
- 05. No Dawn
- 06. Back To The Ground
- 07. Sing For Your Right
- 08. Dust will Fall
- 09. The Stranger Within
- 10. Sea

## LINEUP

Anders Brink - Vocals, Guitars Anders Kargaard - Guitars Maico Thyge - Bass Jonas Bangstrup - Drums

## **INFORMATION**

facebook.com/seamusicdk

Author: Striker666 Translator: Dine